Welcome to 2023

Hi Fam! It’s been a while since I last posted. I am currently on the lookout for a new challenge.

This week I’ve finished reading “Spark Joy” by Marie Kondo. We’re currently looking for a new house, and something she wrote stayed with me, was: “The house you currently live in, will lead you to your next house”. Under that premise, I’ve started to clean and select items that purely serve to make you happy. Her system is divided into four steps, these steps are 1: Clothes. 2: Books. 3: Paperwork. and step 4: Komono (misc.)

Some things that seem logical, like moving items that are of the same material, together. To me, it felt like she was saying that the items are family, and you’re not supposed to split them up. Another one is to sort clothes by color. The brightest ones first, the darker ones, in the back. There’s lots of advice on how to fold, categorize, and how to select the items that get to stay in your environment. It also talks about reducing visual clutter, (items that have text on them) from view, to create a calmer environment. This is something I am currently working on in the living room.

She advises not to remove other people’s items, and if they do bother you, spend some time with them. And if you have permission, even sit and touch them, you don’t have to like it, but it will give you a fresh perspective on the item and what it does for its owner. She also writes that once you’ve cleaned up your items, and the items of your housemates start to annoy you, you should clean.

At the end of last year, I also resumed bullet journaling. It’s really convenient for the things you’ve got to do daily. To log appointments, to do’s, goals, series, and courses that still need to be finished.

On the agenda is trying to find time for physical therapy, and from there to progress into exercise once more. Another thing that I aim to do, is to find out whether I’m going back to work or not. A part of me wants to, and another part of me enjoys taking care of my family and getting better at it each day.

As for investing, I’ve quite enjoyed using various apps. I currently use Peaks, Bux Zero, and BLOX. With Peaks, I’ve adopted a DCA (Dollar-Cost Averaging) approach. Essentially, I allocate the same amount every month. It’s mostly hands-off because it’s worldwide ETFs. No need to DYOR (Do Your Own Research). Last year I was interviewed by Peaks, as I’ve used it for close to 4 years now. The interview can be found here. If you’re interested in adopting a more hands-off approach to investing you can sign up by using the code KIRTICLWE for a € 10 signup bonus.

I also use BUX zero and periodically take part in focus groups there as well. I started using BUX in 2020 and it has been fun to see how individual stocks have performed over the years. I have seen some losses but some incredible wins too. Last year I also wrote a blog post on current investment positions, so far, some of the stocks have outperformed the market. It’s interesting to see how an undervalued company redeems itself and how you can be a part of the success as well. Since even if you only own 0,5 stock, you’re still a part of that company and its story. The risks are a lot higher than with ETFs, but that’s also part of the fun! If this sounds more like you, you can sign up using this link, it’ll also give you a free share to get started!

With BLOX however, it’s like looking into the future. Every day new crypto projects pop up and go down, It’s interesting how fast this sector is developing, and to me at least, it’s fun to look at the charts and to make the assessment if some of the currencies listed on the app, will be there next year as well. It also offers the option to “stake” certain currencies. Staking means you can buy a little of the cryptocurrency, and every Monday they add money merely for not selling. It’s a small way to add to your income. If you’re interested in signing up, you can use this link and use the code: GE9D-9F28-E37B which will get you € 10 to get you started on your journey!

And finally, I’ve been using an app called Woolsocks. If you’re okay with sharing your bank statements of the past 3 months, they offer cashback on certain purchases. Every 3 months, you have the option to opt out. So if after trying, you don’t like it, you have the option. For me, it’s a delight to see that I receive some of the money back, whenever I make a run at Lidl, AH or Kruidvat. Every little bit helps! They also offer insights to your income and expenses at no added cost in the app. If you’re okay with sharing the data, you can sign up here! So far, it’s given me € 13 just for making purchases I would have made anyways. If you sign up today, you can get up to € 5 from purchases made in the past 3 months. That’s a bar of chocolate, at the very least ;). Give it a try!

This week I’ve updated you on my search for work, how Marie Kondo is affecting my life, and options to increase your income. I hope January has treated you well, and that these tips and free stocks / money will help you on your way. Sometimes, we can all use a little bumper. Wishing you all the best for February 2023! Until next time!

Leave a comment