Food for thought

Hi Fam! I hope you’re having a fantastic week so far. For those who are new to the blog, I’d like to welcome you once more. My name is Kirti, and during my free time, I love to learn new things, to read and to watch series. As you may have noticed, I changed the blog interface last week, and I have to say I’m quite pleased with the end result!

Last week, I wrote about soups to keep you warm this winter, and this week I feel like sharing something completely different. I have to admit that I’ve bought ingredients for dumplings and that the aim of this week had been to make some. However, I find that I feel a little intimidated by the body of work, and that’s also part of the reason why nothing has happened as of yet. Do you ever feel the same?

Shubunkin
Ebi says Hi!

For me, the next few months are aimed at finding out what I should be doing for a living, or my ‘ikigai’ if you will. To aid me in this search, I bought a book called ‘The good life’ by Dolf Dobelli. Simultaneously, I am also reading the book ‘Work that matters’ by Maia Duerr. So far, Dobelli often comes up with advice, and he references a book by Daniel Kahneman; Thinking, fast and slow. (I made an attempt at reading it a few months ago, but it’s a lot of information, I do plan on finishing it before the end of this year). Work that matters offers a lot of insights, such as ‘What makes you light up like a Christmas tree?’. (I still don’t have the ‘right’ answer to that question). At this point, I am still a work in progress, but I have faith that eventually I’ll get where I should be!

The art of the good life - Rolf Dobelli
The art of the good life by Rolf Dobelli

As far as my 2019 goals go, I plan to read those three books, to learn different crochet techniques and to complete the course I purchased last month. I’m also saving up for a (tiny) house, a Shikoku and another life event I have planned for myself. This morning, however, I read a passage in ‘The good life’ which wrote about Boethius (in 523 a.d. he was an intellectual in Rome, under King Theodoric). In chapter 31, Dobelli writes about the wheel of fortune, and this part really made me think:

“Second: everything you own, value and love is ephemeral- your health, your partner, your children, your friends, your house, your money, your homeland, your reputation, your status. Don’t set your heart on those things. Relax, be glad if fate grants them to you, but always be aware that they are fleeting, fragile and temporary. The best attitude to have is that all of them are on loan to you, and may be taken away at any time. By death, if nothing else.” (R. Dobelli, The art of the good life, p. 123)

The passage felt like a wake-up call but has not really tapped into my determination to keep on working towards my goals. I will keep on working towards finding what I love and completing courses. I don’t want to stand still and have life ‘happen’ to me.

Since this post is turning out to be way more serious than I intended, I’d like to throw in a story about names. Whenever I go to the Starbucks, I order under a different name. Why, you ask? Because it hurts my heart whenever people misspell my name. I’ve been called ‘Kurt, Kurti or just Kirty’. I know that this is not intentional, so I have adopted a persona under which I generally order. If her name is misspelled, I feel less bothered because it’s not my own. The reason why I use it, is because it was a part of the list of names my parents had before they ended up naming me.

I’d like to wish you a fantastic week ahead, and I’d love if you could tell me if you have a Starbucks persona of your own! If you have any comments about the new layout, or suggestions for a new post, feel free to let me know.

– Kirti

For a link to my previous post, click here. To send me a DM on Instagram, click here. If you’d like to send me an e-mail instead, click here!

Leave a comment